Tubular control arms by ckrummy
Started on: 12-15-2010 08:11 PM
Replies: 25
Last post by: PerKr on 12-21-2010 10:27 AM
ckrummy

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-15-2010 08:11 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ckrummySend a Private Message to ckrummyDirect Link to This Post
So I am planning on making tubular control arms for my 87 fiero, I want them because I can make them more adjustable and I want to use a coil over set up, what materials should I use to make them, I'm an aggressive driver but the car is not going to be jumped or anything to crazy, and how can I tell what length coils overs I need, and what spring rate should I look for
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
BlackGT Codde

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post12-15-2010 09:10 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BlackGT CoddeSend a Private Message to BlackGT CoddeDirect Link to This Post
huh.... well i think you are kind of going to be a pioneer here on that. not many people would have any sugg for stuff you plan on building. personally i like aluminum... all over the place. poly bushings and moog joints are a must. sealed wheel bearings are lighter than serviceable units... hence better ride and better handling.
and dont forget your 1.5" anti-sway bar.
look for joints that come out of the half ton pickup trucks for two reasons.
1 they should be much easier to find when they wear out
2 they should be much heavier duty than any lightwheight car versions(longer lasting
its really a personal opinion where exactly you build your specs.
do it your way. if it dont work then start over from scratch.
Custom2M4

Feedback score: (3)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 114
Rate this member

Report this Post12-15-2010 10:13 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Custom2M4Send a Private Message to Custom2M4Direct Link to This Post