Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions
  Trouble bleeding the brakes after a brake upgrade..

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Trouble bleeding the brakes after a brake upgrade.. by Threedog
Started on: 05-08-2020 02:42 PM
Replies: 22 (848 views)
Last post by: Mike in Sydney on 05-17-2020 04:37 AM
Threedog

Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 61
Rate this member

Report this Post05-08-2020 02:42 PM Click Here to See the Profile for ThreedogSend a Private Message to ThreedogEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
So I have C5 brakes on the front and the Lebarron/Deville upgrade in the rear. I have an S10 master cylinder and S10 booster.

I replaced everything at once, but unfortunately I had to leave one of the lines open for a few days and a ton of air got into the system. Problem is, I can not bleed them and neither can the two shops I have taken it to! The brakes work, but I have to nearly put the pedal to the floor to get them to kick in.

A couple things:
- E brake is disconnect
- The Master Cylinder did not get bench bled originally, it was put on, I bled the brakes, then removed it to bench bleed it.
- The bleed screws on the deville brakes seem to not be on the top, how do you properly bleed those?

What I have tried:
- Vacuum bleed (with a tool)
- Pressure bleed (partner in the driver seat. Open bleed screw --> push pedal --> close bleed screw --> slow release of the pedal --> fill MC --> repeat)

The brakes work, but the pedal goes to the floor before they actually kick in.

I always get fluid through, but there are ALWAYS bubbles. Any ideas?

[This message has been edited by Threedog (edited 05-08-2020).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
TheDuke

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member