Iron Duke Performance mods done by White 84 SE
Started on: 09-20-2009 02:03 AM
Replies: 24
Last post by: White 84 SE on 09-22-2009 04:29 PM
White 84 SE

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-20-2009 02:03 AM Click Here to See the Profile for White 84 SESend a Private Message to White 84 SEDirect Link to This Post
Well yep, I went and did a bunch of engine mods to an 84 Duke. I am here to tell you I think it was worth it. Then again, I am new to doing engine work. Here's a list of what I did and my impressions.

Holley TBI
CompCam high lift camshaft and lifters
DIY gasket match porting from TBI to exhaust manifold
Glasspacks to replace catalytic converter and muffler both
MSD blaster coil
DIY engine overhaul per Haynes manual

My Impressions are: It is a lot more fun to drive. Has a lot more pickup. Sounds pretty good from an exhaust point of view. I am getting better than 9 seconds 0-60 times at the toll booths. Improvement in gas mileage to around 26 mpg mixed from 24ish. Has more torque in 2nd and 3rd than before with about the same for 1st and 4th which was pretty good already.

There are a few negatives. It seems just as noisey in the engine clatter department although I have not changed out the springs or pushrods yet. Idle seems a little sort of jumpy- very minor but before it was stone solid.

So, all you Dukesters...if these sorts of things are what your looking to do...they can work out. I dont have HP #s but the engine gets more midrange power which is a great improvement for performance. I have not noticed any drawbacks from these mods yet at all.

------------------
84 Duke, Holley TBI, Manual Trans 4.10, CompuCam, White

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
White 84 SE

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post09-20-2009 10:17 AM Click Here to See the Profile for White 84 SESend a Private Message to White 84 SEDirect Link to This Post