Ported my Duke head with pics by White 84 SE
Started on: 08-01-2014 06:51 PM
Replies: 58 (1645 views)
Last post by: White84SE on 06-05-2016 09:16 PM
White 84 SE

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2014 06:51 PM Click Here to See the Profile for White 84 SESend a Private Message to White 84 SEEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Just ported my Duke cylinder head. Been reading up on what to look for via David Vizard's book, "How To Port and Flow Test Cylinder Heads" In that book Vizard shows the angles one wants to emulate, the tools and even how to make a cheap flow bench. I am not bothering with the flow bench and just basically doing the minimum required to try to get more HP and even gas mileage out of the stock 4 cylinder by porting the head. I am no pro and just using a 3,000 rpm drill, some grinding stones, a carbide flame bit of 5/16th". I did also get a porting sanding roll kit but it really can be done without, they seem more cosmetic than anything else. I used a black Sharpy marker, (no one has mechanic's prussian blue anymore!)

[url=][/url]

84 Duke, Holley TBI, Manual Trans 4.10, CompuCam, White

[This message has been edited by White 84 SE (edited 08-02-2014).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
White 84 SE

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post08-01-2014 07:15 PM Click Here to See the Profile for White 84 SESend a Private Message to White 84 SEEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
This is what I wound up doing...

[url=][/url]

I opened up the end of the swirl quite a bit. The swirl as cast stops like a brick wall and I tried to let the air go where I thought it would want. Also the "throat" area was widened to 90% the intake valve size. Actually they measure 1.55 now. They were about less than 1.375" before obviously choking the air flow . I did not think that skinnying up the valve guides would help any, so I essentially left them as is.